Asia Cup 2023 Opening match Pakistan vs Nepal


Cricket, often referred to as a religion in some parts of the world, has an ardent following, especially in the cricket-crazy continent of Asia. One event that brings together the passion, rivalry, and sheer talent of Asian cricket nations is the Asia Cup. In this article, we will delve into the rich history of the Asia Cup, exploring its host countries and the remarkable teams that have clinched victory over the years.

Introduction to the Asia Cup

The Asia Cup is more than just a cricket tournament; it’s a celebration of the sport in a region where cricket is deeply ingrained in the culture. This tournament was inaugurated in 1984 in Sharjah, United Arab Emirates, with a primary aim of fostering friendly competition among Asian cricketing nations. What started as a modest competition has now grown into one of the most eagerly anticipated events in the cricketing calendar, drawing millions of fans across Asia and beyond.

Host Countries

One of the most fascinating aspects of the Asia Cup is its nomadic nature. It traverses the continent, allowing fans from various nations to witness top-notch cricket. Here’s a closer look at the host countries and their contributions to the tournament’s history:

  1. United Arab Emirates (UAE):The birthplace of the Asia Cup, the UAE, hosted the inaugural edition in 1984. It has since been a recurring host, with tournaments held there in 1995, 2018, and 2020. The UAE’s love for cricket and its world-class stadiums make it a fitting host.
  2. India:Cricket’s heartland, India, has also played a significant role as a host. The tournament has graced Indian soil multiple times, including in 1988, 1990-91, 1995, 2006, and 2016. The passion for the game in India ensures that Asia Cup matches held here are nothing short of spectacular.
  3. Pakistan:Pakistan, with its fervent cricketing fanbase, has hosted the Asia Cup twice, in 1986 and 2008. The lively atmosphere in Pakistani stadiums adds an extra layer of excitement to the tournament.
  4. Bangladesh:Bangladesh, a nation that has seen cricket’s popularity soar in recent years, has hosted the Asia Cup in 2012 and 2014. Their passionate supporters make the tournament unforgettable.
  5. Sri Lanka:The picturesque island of Sri Lanka has been a gracious host, welcoming the Asia Cup in 1986, 1997, 2004, and 2010. The stunning landscapes and cricketing heritage of Sri Lanka make it an ideal location for the competition.

Winners of the Asia Cup

Now, let’s dive into the thrilling victories and memorable moments that have shaped the Asia Cup’s history:

  1. India:India has been the undoubted powerhouse in the Asia Cup, claiming victory in multiple editions, including 1984, 1988, 1990-91, 1995, 2010, and 2016. With iconic players like Sachin Tendulkar and Virat Kohli, they have consistently dominated the tournament.
  2. Sri Lanka:Sri Lanka, another cricketing giant in Asia, has also made its mark. They secured the coveted title in 1986, 1997, and 2004, thanks to legendary players like Arjuna Ranatunga and Kumar Sangakkara.
  3. Pakistan:Pakistan, known for its unpredictable yet formidable cricket, has clinched the Asia Cup multiple times, most notably in 2000, 2006, and 2012. With talent like Wasim Akram and Shoaib Akhtar, they’ve always been a force to be reckoned with.
  4. Bangladesh:In 2018, Bangladesh made history by lifting their maiden Asia Cup trophy. Their thrilling victory over India in the final was a testament to the growth of cricket in the country.
  5. Other Participants:The Asia Cup has also provided a platform for emerging cricketing nations like the United Arab Emirates and Afghanistan to showcase their skills and be part of this grand cricketing tradition.

Opening Match Highlights :

Pakistan faced Nepal in the opening match of the Asia Cup 2023 on August 30 at the Multan Cricket Stadium. Pakistan won the toss and elected to bat first. Here are the highlights of the match:

First Innings:

  • Pakistan scored a massive total of 342-6 in 50 overs.
  • Babar Azam scored a brilliant 151 off 131 balls, including 14 fours and 2 sixes.
  • Iftikhar Ahmed scored an unbeaten 109 off 87 balls, including 7 fours and 5 sixes.
  • Nepal’s bowlers struggled to contain Pakistan’s batsmen, with Sandeep Lamichhane being the most successful with 2 wickets.

Second Innings:

  • Nepal’s innings got off to a disastrous start as Shaheen Shah Afridi struck twice in the first over.
  • Nepal never recovered from the early blows and were eventually bowled out for 104 in 24.4 overs.
  • Shadab Khan claimed 4/27 from his 6.4 overs, while Naseem Shah and Haris Rauf bowled impressive spells.
  • Nepal’s highest scorer was Sompal Kami with 23 runs.


  • Pakistan won the match by 238 runs.
  • Babar Azam was named the player of the match for his outstanding innings.

Opening Ceremony:

  • The opening ceremony of the Asia Cup 2023 was held on August 30, just before the first match between Pakistan and Nepal, at the Multan Cricket Stadium in Multan.
  • The ceremony featured musical performances from renowned artists like Aima Baig, and Trishala Gurung, as well as traditional Asian music and dance performances.

Related articles


Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.